Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Two Sonatas from "Essercizi musici" TWV 41-OB/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Telemann, Georg Philipp

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 5889


Two Sonatas from the Essercizii musici TWV 41
for oboe and piano (basso continuo)
by Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)- German Baroque composer
Sonata in Bb Major TWV 41:B6
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Cantabile
IV. Vivace
Sonata in e minor TWV 41:e6
I. Largo
II. Allegro
III. Grave
IV. Vivace

These two solo sonatas with basso continuo are taken from Telemann’s famous Essercizii musici; a collection of 24 sonatas including 12 solo sonatas and 12 trio sonatas. These were modelled after Corelli’s Sonata da Chiesa and have four movements: slow-fast-slow-fast. The sonatas long thought to stem from the late 1730s are now believed to have first been published by the composer around 1729. The main sources are the three part-books from the original edition from that same year. 

This first ever Urtext edition, edited by the Bach and Telemann scholar Klaus Hofmann, is taken from the Telemann Musical Works. The continuo realizations are by the editor. This edition comes with a fully realized keyboard part, a solo oboe part, as well as a separate basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as cello or bassoon. As with all Barenreiter editions, careful attention has been given to every detail. A great addition to one's music library.