We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in C Major K314 (Urtext) (score & set) - OB/ORCH

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 58022


Concerto in C Major K314 (285d)
for oboe and orchestra
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro aperto
II. Adagio non troppo
III. Rondo: Allegretto
Edited by Franz Giegling, this set includes:
  • One full score
  • One set of wind parts (harmonie) for two oboes and two horns
  • One set of string parts (4-4-3-2-1)

It does NOT include the solo oboe part, which must be purchased as part of the piano reduction. The piano reduction of this edition may be found HERE

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Concerto in C major, K. 314 was originally composed in the Spring or Summer of 1777 for oboist Giuseppe Ferlendis (1755-1802) from Bergamo, then reworked by the composer as a concerto for flute in D major in 1778. The concerto is a widely-studied piece for both instruments, and is one of the more important concerti for the oboe. As with his Flute Concerto No. 1, the piece is arranged for a standard set of orchestral strings, two oboes, and two horns. 
While the original version for oboe had been lost before Alfred Einstein wrote his seminal work, Mozart: His Character, His Work, the oboe origin of the flute concerto was suspected, in part because of references in letters to a now-missing oboe concerto, as Einstein wrote, and of similar details in the orchestral string lines which suggested a transposition was used. Also, Einstein noted the two scores in D Major and C Major of the K. 314 Concerto in the Library of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna, which led to the belief that the oboe concerto was the origin of the flute concerto. The orchestra parts of the composition and solo oboe part in C were rediscovered by Bernhard Paumgartner in Salzburg, in 1920.