Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Octet in F Major D803, op. 166 (study score) - CL/BSN/HN/STG4/KB

Composer: Schubert, Franz

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 58041


Octet in F Major D803, op. 166
for clarinet, horn, bassoon, two violins, viola, cello, and string bass
by Franz Schubert (1797-1828) - Austrian composer
I. Adagio- Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro vivace
IV. Andante
V. Menuetto & Trio
VI. Andante molto
VII. Allegro
Edited by Arnold Feil, Urtext of the New Schubert Edition. 

“I have done little new by way of lieder. In compensation I have tried my hand at several instrumental things, for I have composed two quartets for violins, viola and violoncello [A minor, D 804; D minor, D 810] and an octet [F major, D 803] and will write yet another quartet [not carried out]. Indeed, in this way I hope to prepare the way to the full-scale symphony. The latest news in Vienna is that Beethoven will give a concert [on 7 May 1824] ...I too am inclined to give a similar concert next Year, God willing.”

Thus Schubert, writing on 31 March 1824 to his friend Leopold Kupelwieser in Rome, in a lengthy letter whose first section is decidedly low-spirited. In order to prepare the way to the full-scale symphony – by which he doubtless meant the genre as a whole rather than any specific work – he wrote string quartets and a large-scale piece of chamber music for strings and winds, taking Beethoven as his guide.
This title is score only. The set of parts is also available HERE.