We are open and shipping orders during this unusual time. Stay safe. Practice!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata #4 in g minor-2OB/BSN/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Zelenka, Jan Dismas

Publisher: Hortus Musicus (Germany)

Edition: 9619


Sonata #4 in g minor
for two oboes, bassoon, and piano (basso continuo)
by Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745)- Czech Baroque composer
I. Andante
II. Allegro
III. Adagio
IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Edited by Wolfgang Reich. This edition comes with solo parts for oboe I and oboe II and bassoon, as well as a fully realized keyboard part and a separate basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as cello.
Of the many trio sonatas written during the 150-year history of this genre the set composed in 1721–2 by Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679–1745) is certainly among the most striking and unusual. Extreme both in their dimensions and their demands on performer, they unite sophisticated formal designs with exhilarating virtuosity.

These sonatas appeared in print for the first time three decades ago in the series “ Hortus Musicus ” edited by Camillo Schoenbaum , a pathbreaking publication that ushered in the current Zelenka renaissance. Since then recent discoveries and analyses of the sources have made a new edition necessary in order to create a performing version that meets scholarly standards.