We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata #1 in F Major - 2OB/BSN/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Zelenka, Jan Dismas

Publisher: Hortus Musicus (Germany)

Edition: 1369


Sonata #1 in F Major
for two oboes, bassoon, and piano (basso continuo)
by Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745) - Czech Baroque composer
I. Adagio ma non troppo
II. Allegro
III. Larghetto
IV. Allegro assai

Edited by Wolfgang Horn, this edition comes with solo parts for oboe I and oboe II, a fully realized keyboard part, as well as a separate bassoon part. In this particular sonata, the bassoon functions as the basso instrument, and is less of a soloist than in some of the other Zelenka Sonatas.

Of the many trio sonatas written during the 150-year history of this genre the set composed in 1721–2 by Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679–1745) is certainly among the most striking and unusual. Extreme both in their dimensions and their demands on performer, they unite sophisticated formal designs with exhilarating virtuosity.

These sonatas appeared in print for the first time three decades ago in the series “ Hortus Musicus ” edited by Camillo Schoenbaum , a pathbreaking publication that ushered in the current Zelenka renaissance. Since then recent discoveries and analyses of the sources have made a new edition necessary in order to create a performing version that meets scholarly standards.