Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in Bb Major, K191 (urtext) (study score) - BSN/ORCH

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 58030


Concerto in Bb Major, K191 (186e)
for bassoon and orchestra (study score)
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Andante ma adagio
III. Rondo- Tempo di Menuetto
Edited by Franz Giegling. Throughout his career Mozart had a special feeling for the wind instruments. Not only did he add a distinctive flavor to the wind band in his orchestral music - indeed, his writing for winds became a defining and inimitable feature of his music - he also wrote compositions for wind players in his circle of friends. The autograph score has disappeared, and all that has come down to us is a set of printed parts published by André in Offenbach for the first time. This is Mozart's very first wind concerto. The relation between the soloist and the orchestra is not so much one of opposition as of complementarity, the bassoon embroidering the bass line in "leaps and runs“ in much the same manner as, say, figured basses were once treated by the viola da gamba. The solo part, rather than being virtuoso and domineering, enters into a dialogue with the "lively participation of the orchestra“.
This title is the study score only. 
To order the piano reduction with bassoon solo part, please click here. 
To order the full score and set of orchestra parts, please click here.