Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Serenade #2 in C Major, K439b/2 (score & parts) - OB/PN or 2OB/BSN

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 58009


Serenade #2 in C Major, K439b/2
for oboe and piano or two oboes and bassoon
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Menuetto & Trio
III. Adagio
IV. Menuetto & Trio
V. Rondo: Allegro
This edition is written for three melody instruments in C Major, or for melody instrument and piano accompaniment. Thus, the top line may be performed by oboe, and the bottom two lines may be performed by another oboe (or flute, or violin) and bassoon (or cello). 
This edition of Mozart’s Serenades ( Book 1-4) wishes to encourage musicians to experiment with different sounds: the trios can be played by practically all instruments (strings, winds, piano) current today in home music-making. This is absolutely in agreement with their historical origins.
Mozart composed the five wind Divertimenti at a time when he was experimenting with various combination of sound in his musical “private life“, free from the pressure of commissions and popular success. While playing music with friends, he would exchange the instruments, thus producing ever new textures. Thus the Serenades lend themselves just as much as ever to an interpretation with varying tone colours and instruments, and will hopefully stimulate musicians’ imagination and delight in experimentation.