Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Gamba Sonatas BWV 1027-1029 - CEL(BSN)/HARPSICHORD

Composer: Bach, J.S.

Publisher: Henle

Edition: 26105


Three Gamba Sonatas BWV 1027-1029
for viola da gamba or cello (or bassoon) and harpsichord
by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - German Baroque composer
Sonata I BWV 1027
I. Adagio
II. Allegro ma non tanto
III. Andante
IV. Allegro moderato
Sonata II BWV 1028
I. Adagio
II. Allegro
III. Andante
IV. Allegro
Sonata III BWV 1029
I. Vivace
II. Adagio
III. Allegro

Edited by Ernst-Gunter Heinemann. Fingerings for the keyboard part by Klaus Schilde. Bowing by Rainer Zipperling and Claus Kanngiesser. Originally for viola da gamba, this title comes with solo parts for viola da gamba or cello. Minor adjustments will need to be made by a bassoonist wishing to perform this work.

Both the keyboard and solo parts are amply laid out and precisely but sparsely marked. Any deviance from original sources is carefully indicated and explained in extensive notes at the end of the continuo volume. Professor Siegfried Petrenz has stylishly realized the continuo. Thanks to its dedicated team of scholars, Henle has produced a definitive performance edition and a handsome volume to the low register string literature.