Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in G Major after BWV 1055 (Score & Set)-BSN/ORCH

Composer: Bach, JS

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1677


This edition is edited by Daryl Duran, and comes with:

1. 1 Full Score

2. 1 Solo Bassoon Part

3. 1 Continuo Part (Cembalo)

4. One String Part Set 3-3-2-2- (1)

Bach's Concerto BWV 1055, like all of the composer's harpsichord concerti, is based on previously composed material. While the source material for BWV 1055 has been lost, there is general agreement that this music was originally written as a concerto for oboe d'amore during the years Bach was Kapellmeister at Cothen (1717-1723). 

Oboists have been performing various reconstructions of this concerto in A Major (also the key of the harpsichord version). With the oboe d'amore pitched in A, a solo part in C is ideal for the soloist. This version places the concerto in G Major, a friendlier key for the bassoon, while retaining the brighter string sound of sharp keys. 

For this edition, both the harpsichord and oboe d'amore versions on the concerto were consulted. The performer is encouraged to do the same when preparing the piece. The parts have purposely been left without articulation and with only a few ornaments so the performers can make their own decisions about these expressive elements. 

A version for bassoon and piano is also available by clicking on the following link: