Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in G Major after BWV 1055 - BSN/PN

Composer: Bach, J.S.

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1676


Concerto in G Major after BWV 1055
for bassoon and piano
by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - German Baroque composer
I. Without tempo indication
II. Larghetto
III. Allegro ma non tanto
Edited by Daryl Durran. 
Bach's Concerto BWV 1055, like all of the composer's harpsichord concerti, is based on previously composed material. While the source material for BWV 1055 has been lost, there is general agreement that this music was originally written as a concerto for oboe d'amore during the years Bach was Kapellmeister at Cothen (1717-1723). 
Oboists have been performing various reconstructions of this concerto in A Major (also the key of the harpsichord version). With the oboe d'amore pitched in A, a solo part in C is ideal for the soloist. This version places the concerto in G Major, a friendlier key for the bassoon, while retaining the brighter string sound of sharp keys. 
For this edition, both the harpsichord and oboe d'amore versions on the concerto were consulted. The performer is encouraged to do the same when preparing the piece. The parts have purposely been left without articulation and with only a few ornaments so the performers can make their own decisions about these expressive elements. 
The realization is by Mark Ferraguto. 
This piece is also available as a score and set of orchestra parts: