Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Chaconne from "Partita #2 in d minor", BWV 1004 - SOLO OB

Composer: Bach, J.S.

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 4609 - 67103


from Partita #2 in d minor for violin, BWV 1004
for unaccompanied oboe
by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - German Baroque composer

Arranged and edited by Natalie Wren. The Chaconne movement from Bach's Violin Partita #2 in d minor, BWV 1004 is part of a suite of six sonatas and partitas for unaccompanied violin, written during the composer's service to the court of Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Coethen (1717-1723). While each of these six works are masterworks in their own right, there is none quite as celebrated as the Chaconne. This arrangement is based on the Eduard Herrmann edition as it adheres strictly to the original manuscript. Some inner voices have been removed in order to preserve the architecture of the work, but as many harmonic voices and contrapuntal lines have been included as possible. 

This edition contains a standard bound version of the Chaconne. However, also included are four dual page single sheets that may be placed on stands for continuous performance purposes.