Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quatrieme Suite Op 1 #4-OB/PN

Composer: Philidor, Pierre Danican

Publisher: B&D Publications

Edition: BD04


Quatrieme Suite
for oboe and basso continuo
by Pierre Danican Philidor (1681-1731)- French composer

I. Prelude- Lentement
II. Courante
III. Air en Musette
IV. Sicilienne
V. Paysanne

Pierre Danican Philidor was part of a celebrated family of composers who flourished at the French court from the mid 17th Century onwards. He played both flute and the oboe, and became a member of the grand ecurie and the royal chapel. Pierre Danican Philidor was also one of the musicians who performed Couperin's Concerts Royeaux in the 'small chambers' of Versailles for Louis XIV in 1714/15. 

This suite was first printed in 1717 by the author, with a dedication to the Abbot of Breteuil. This is a rare original work indicating the appropriate use of the ornament "flattement". It is typical of the usual French suite- a prelude, followed by various dance movements.