From December 20th through January 5th, TrevCo-Varner Music will be on shortened hours for the Holidays. Orders will continue to be processed and shipped out normally, but it may take an extra day or two to answer emails and return phone calls. Thank you for your patience, and Merry Christmas!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in C Major Op 1 #6-OB/PN

Composer: Vincent, Thomas

Publisher: B&D Publications

Edition: BD01


Sonata in C Major Op 1 #6
for oboe and basso continuo
by Thomas Vincent Jr. (1720-1783)- British composer
I. Siciliana
II. Allegro
III. Minuet

This sonata comes from a set of six published and sold by the author in 1748 in London. As is typical of an oboist/composer, Vincent gives us a sonata truly idiomatic for the instrument. It is not, however, without some challenges in the passage-work especially the ascending trills near the end of the allegro. 

The continuo realization os meant to be appropriate for accompniement on harpsichord, witht he bass line doubled by bassoon or cello. All of the ornaments and articulations are original, except as indicated in brackets. 

Edited by David Dutton with a continuo realization by Beverly Biggs.