Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Woodwind Quintet 1948 (score only) - WW5

Composer: Carter, Elliott

Publisher: Associated Music Pubishers

Edition: 1053


Woodwind Quintet (1948)
for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Elliott Carter (1908-2012) - American composer
I. Allegretto
II. Allegro giocoso
In 1948 several woodwind players asked me to write a work for woodwind quintet. On looking over some earlier quintet works, I found the composers were in the habit of overlooking the fact that each of these instruments has a different sound. I, on the other hand, was particularly struck by this, and so decided to write a work that would emphasize the individuality of each instrument and that made a virtue of their inability to blend completely. --Elliott Carter
This title is score only. To order the set of parts, please click on the following link: