The United States Postal Service has just announced rate changes that will go into effect on January 27th, 2019. Shipping and Handling Prices have gone up, especially for international orders and for express mail. Please see the shipping and handling policies page for more details.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Island Prelude (Score & Parts)-WW5 (solo oboe)

Composer: Tower, Joan

Publisher: Associated Music Pubishers

Edition: 8042


Island Prelude
for oboe and wind quartet (flute, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Joan Tower (b. 1938)- American composer, conductor, and pianist

Island Prelude starts with a slow-moving consonant landscape that gradually becomes more active and dissonant. Above this terrain, the oboe emerges as a slightly more prominent and melismatic line which in turn activates the surrounding chords. Finally, the oboe releases its contained energy in two short cadenzas ruling upwards in a burst of fast notes that lead into a final, quiet coda. This last section is again very slow, sustained, high, and distant. 
--Joan Tower

Duration: 10:00

This is the original version of the piece, really for solo oboe; the other four voices in the quintet serve accompanimental roles.