Click image above to zoom

Music for Springtime (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Gregorio, Joseph

Publisher: Arete Music Imprints

Edition: 1162


Music for Springtime (2011)
for woodwind quintet
by Joseph Gregorio (b. 1979)


Premiered at the 2012 IDRS Conference. Inspired in part by Barber's "Summer Music", although not an homage. The first movement is a lilting, lyrical ABA form with unexpected meter changes, bookended by a layered introduction and brief coda. The second movement features haunting melodies and an exciting middle section, while the last movement is in sonata-rondo form and features whimsical tunes, intricate technical passages, and lyrical duets.