Wishing you all the best for 2023!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Blues for D.D. - SOLO OB

Composer: Agrell, Jeffrey

Publisher: Jeffrey Agrell (USA)

Edition: 57518


Blues for D.D.
for unaccompanied oboe
by Jeffrey Agrell - American composer and hornist

Blues for D.D. was written for oboe virtuoso Diana Doherty at her request. It starts slow and easy, and then takes off, transmogrifying the blues through sections of catchy swing, lilting Latin, and blistering bebop before crashing to earth with a nearly three octave chromatic swoop and concluding with a sassy bit of tongue in cheek. The piece was designed to be fun to play and fun to listen to, and tho test the outer limits of the possible in oboe technique. Thus, the principal requirements for undertaking this piece are a sense of humor and considerably more technique than God. The Blues is an oboist's Everest. The oboist must climb the whole way herself, and only an elite few are capable of making it to the top. 

This work is also available in a slightly modified version for oboe and piano. Please click here