Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Pieces for Mechanical Organ (Spieluhr) (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 56869


Three Pieces for Mechanical Organ (Spieluhr)
for woodwind quintet
by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) - German composer
I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Scherzo & Trio
Arranged by Mordechai Rechtman. in 1799 Beethoven composed three pieces for Mechanical Organ WoO 33 for Duke Josef Deym, who ran a Kunstkabinett in Vienna under the pseudonym Mueller: Allegro (published for the first time in 1963), Adagio (1902), and Scherzo (1921). The main theme of the Adagio is closely related to the Violin Romance Op 50 which was written at approximately the same time, and is in G Major. The motif in the eighth bar can also be found unchanged in the Egmont Overture. The Scherzo and Allegro are in contrast to the Adagio, very similar to the music box pieces by Haydn. As the original literature for wind quintet from this period is not very extensive, this arrangement represents a welcome addition to the repertoire.