Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Mouvements d'Harmonie Op 29 (Score & Parts)-WW8/CBSN

Composer: Waterhouse, Graham

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 8000


Mouvements d'Harmonie Op 29
for two oboes, two clarinets, two horns, two bassoons, and contrabassoon (or string bass)
by Graham Waterhouse (b. 1962)- English composer and cellist

Written in 1991, revised in 1998, and dedicated to William Waterhouse. It was first performed at the Royal Northern College of Music Wind Ensemble at the Purcell Room in London on the occasion of the 60th Birthday concert of William Waterhouse. The first performance of the revised version with contrabassoon was given in June 1998 by faculty members of Arizona State University at the IDRS Conference in Tempe, Arizona. 

The work may best be understood as a sonata form movement preceded by a low introduction. Following the recapitulation, there is a coda in which the principal themes are hear simultaneously, the final apotheosis is interrupted by a re-appearance of the opening Maestoso e Grave which reflects on and augments the introductory music to bring the work to a quiet close.