Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Whizzing Shawdows (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Grethen, Luc

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 1435


Whizzing Shadows
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Luc Grethen (b. 1964)- Luxembourgish composer and pedagogue

In the autumn of 2004 the composer again dealt with the idea of shadows: summer shadows, autumn shadows, shadows of the soul, reflecting his innermost self in manifold ways and shades. They are given expression in this work for wind quintet. Various motifs and themes slide from one instrument to the next, are enlarged, reduced, cut up, reassembled in a different form and appear in new shades of brightness and color. a last race at the end of the work brings the absolute climax where the shadows catch up their own shadows again...

Duration: 15:00