The United States Postal Service has just announced rate changes that will go into effect on January 27th, 2019. Shipping and Handling Prices have gone up, especially for international orders and for express mail. Please see the shipping and handling policies page for more details.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Baroque Sonata (1994)-BSN/PN

Composer: Ronnes, Robert

Publisher: Accolade (Germany)

Edition: 1041


From the composer:

This "Baroque Sonata" was originally written for the tenor-bassoon, the Fagottino, which has been masterfully developed from baroque instrument to fully mature instrument by Bernd Moosman in Germany. The career of the Fagottino ended as the baroque period came to an end. The sonata is conceived as an encouragement to the Moosmann factory and the bassoon players who dare to take the Fagottino seriously as a solo instrument. 

Stylistically the solo part of this sonata is inspired by the Italian Baroque and the composer Anotnio Vivaldi. The keyboard part is written in the early viennese classical-rococo style with a small taste of some early Beethovenesque chords. Is it possible for a composer in 1994 to combine these styles to form a new one?

I hereby dedicate this sonata to the Moosmann Bassoon Factory, in gratitude for their very fine bassoons, which have given me so much pleasure.