Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Nonetto, op. 38 (score & parts) - WW5/VLN/VLA/VC/KB

Composer: Farrenc, Louise

Publisher: International Opus

Edition: 62168


Nonetto, op 38 (1849)
for woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn & bassoon), violin, viola, cello, and string bass
by Louise Farrenc (1804-1875) - French composer, virtuoso pianist, and teacher
I. Adagio- Allegro
II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo Vivace
IV. Adagio- Allegro
Edited by William Scribner.
Similar in structure and style to the Beethoven Septet and the Schubert Octet, this twenty-five minute work in E-Flat Major is in four movements featuring prominent solo lines and variations or all of the instrumentalists. The premiere of the Nonetto in November, 1850, featured 19-year old legendary violinist Josef Joachim, and catapulted Farrenc to near-celebrity status as a composer- so much so that she subsequently requested that the Paris Conservatoire put her salary in line with male professors, a request which was immediately granted.